University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Selection Committee


Please email us at with any questions you have regarding the UConn Reads Program.

2016-2017 Steering Committee

The Steering Committee for UConn Reads comprises staff, faculty, and student representatives from across the University community. Committee members are as follows:

Cathy Schlund-Vials Chair/UConn Reads, Professor of English and Asian/Asian American Studies and Director of the Asian and Asian American Studies Institute
Brandon Murray Associate Chair/UConn Reads, Provost’s Office
Gina DeVivo Brassaw Student Activities and Office of Community Outreach
Kristen Cole University Communications
Caitlin Trinh Alumni Association
Aynsley Diamond Institute for Teaching and Learning
Shawna Lesseur First Year Programs and Learning Communities
Richard Bleiler University of Connecticut Libraries, Humanities Librarian
Sally Reis Vice Provost
Robert Smith UConn Bookstore
Nathaniel Trumbull Geography (Avery Point)
 Cara Workman University Events
Clare King’oo Associate Professor, English
Fred Roden Associate Professor, English (Stamford)
Serkan Gorklemi  Associate Professor, English (Stamford)
Jeffrey Shoulson Director of the Center for Judaic Studies
Ingrid Seamaan WGSS (Stamford)
Terrence Cheng Director, Stamford Campus
Anna Ziering Ph.D. student, English
Fany Hannon Director, Puerto Rican/Latin American Cultural Center
Angela Rola Director, Asian American Cultural Center
Willena Price Director, African American Cultural Center
Fleurette King Director, Rainbow Center
Glenn Mitoma Director, Dodd Center
Carol Polifroni Director, Public Engagement
Kathleen Holgersen Director, Women’s Center
Nathaniel Trumbull Associate Professor, Maritime Studies, Avery Point